Book Review: Fate’s Fable: One Girl’s Journey Through 8 Unfortunate Fairy Tales

Fate's Fables

Title: Fate’s Fables: One Girl’s Journey Through 8 Unfortunate Fairy Tales

Fate’s Journey, #1

Author: T. Rae Mitchell

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy


This beautifully intricate YA fantasy, with its feisty heroine, breath-taking action and heart-wrenching romance, will delight fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Reality sucks. Make-believe rocks. That’s been Fate Floyd’s motto for as long as she’s been a fantasy geek. But now she can hardly tell what’s real and what’s not. She’s been spelled and mysteriously trapped within a deadly fairy tale world bound by the Book of Fables. Her only way home is to travel through the book’s 8 unfortunate fairy tales and change them into happily-ever-afters. And if dealing with scheming sorceresses, greedy goblins and heartless faeries isn’t enough to test her sanity, there’s Finn. The Scottish boy who looks like he stepped straight out of her dreams. As it turns out, make-believe isn’t as fun as Fate thought it would be. The reality is, her road to freedom isn’t straight, and danger lurks around every bend.

Special Edition with Bonus Prequel:

The Lonely Sorceress: The first unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate and Finn find themselves on a magical island and hatch a plan to play cupid to give the sorceress a happy ending. All the while, Fate wonders why Finn is so familiar. The closer she comes to the truth, the more she denies it.

A Dark Faery’s Love: The second unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate and Finn are taken prisoner by the Dark Faery’s evil oaks and carnivorous pixies. When Fate uses her Words of Making to call upon the Green Man to destroy the Dark Faery, her plan backfires horribly. To save Fate’s life, Finn makes a promise to the Green Man, one he prays he’ll never have to keep.

The Goblin Queen: The third unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate’s been keeping a secret from Finn. When she finally tells him, the truth shatters his world. Meanwhile, they must find the goblins’ healing goblet to save a dying woman before a sorceress takes it. When Finn tries to stop the sorceress, she poisons him with an evil that begins to grow in him.

The Heart of a Troll: The fourth unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Caught in a feverish spell that’s destroying his memory, Finn is lost in the frozen Twisted Bone Forest, where he’s rescued by a tree troll and her human daughter. After Fate searches for him for weeks, she finally finds him, but in the arms of someone else. Heartbroken, she must decide whether to fight for him or leave him behind.

The Dragon Empress: The fifth unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate and Finn must defeat the dragon empress before she unleashes absolute destruction upon her kingdom. When Fate witnesses the horrifying way Finn uses his new powers to stop the empress, she fears he’s changed for the worst.

Old Mother Grim: The sixth unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate and Finn face an evil born of the most ghastly nightmares. As they race to stop Old Mother Grim from stealing the villagers’ children, Fate risks losing Finn’s love to save him from the darkness and he must choose to forgive her, or do something that will tear them apart forever.

The Lightning Sword: The seventh unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. When Fate’s inducted into a war goddess’s army, she forgets everything, and Finn is forced to fight her. What he doesn’t know is that she’s imbued with the energies of lightning and wind.

The Bloodthirsty Oak: The eighth unfortunate fairy tale in the Book of Fables. Fate and Finn finally confront the faceless evil that’s been influencing him and fight to win their freedom from the Book of Fables. The only problem is, an ancient god has other plans.

BONUS PREQUEL – Chaos In The Keep: Hidden in the deepest of space, the darkest of magic is caged in a place called the Keep. When the Keep Guardian makes a mistake that could unleash chaos throughout the universe, she’s forced to find her successor, Fate Floyd.

 final review button

Fate’s Fables is a great read for young adult readers. The concept of stories within a story is a great idea. And Fate’s Fables has eight different stories within the main story! The Fate’s Fables starts off with the leading lady, Fate getting sucked into a large book that was inside her grandmother, now her inherited bookstore that has been neglected since her grandmother’s death. However, she doesn’t go in alone, she’s accompanied by a man that was burning books inside named Finn. Fate and Finn have to change the terrible endings for eight fables in order to return home.

The fables were great to read. Although only a few pages long the descriptions and the range of tales was quite intriguing. Fate and Finn’s journey through the fables though didn’t quite keep my attention. They popped into the world that a fable was set in, were determined to fix it but not sure how, ended up in a sticky situation, and left…either because they did all they could or they had to leave to save themselves from getting killed. The further the novel goes the darker the stories get and ultimately the more trouble they get into.

For some reason I just couldn’t get into it and I’m not sure why. It could be due to Fate’s character. between how her personality was written and how she handled certain things, I just couldn’t relate to her. She is this super famous author that had tons of superfans, but yet she’s annoyed by them…isn’t that an author’s dream? Maybe…anyways, one thing that put me off was the relationship between Fate and Finn. It seemed a little rushed and had a hidden meaning behind it. The length of time you had to wait to get more details about how Fate knew Finn was a little drawn out.

However, the quality of the fables were fantastic and just because I wasn’t thrilled with Fate doesn’t mean that others will be too. If you love books with a twist and changing of people’s fate, then absolutely give it try.

3 stars

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s